SAMHA Award Winners

Salmon Arm Minor Hockey Association will present the following annual awards to all recreation and rep teams:

  • Most Dedicated Player;
  • Most Improved Player; and
  • Most Sportsmanlike Player.

The deserving players will be presented with an annual trophy as well as an Esso Medal of Achievement at the Annual Awards Ceremonies held in April.

Salmon Arm Minor Hockey also recognizes the contribution of our volunteers and referees with the following annual awards:

  • President’s Award;
  • Volunteer of the Year;
  • Coach of the Year;
  • Most Dedicated Referee;
  • Most Promising Referee;
  • Unsung Hero; and
  • Safety Award.

Please find the criteria (pdf) for the above awards for the 2019-2020 season.

Please find below our previous award winners:

Salmon Arm Minor Hockey Scholarships

SAMHA will present two or more scholarships to a graduating member of any midget rec, rep or female team. Please see Amy Witt at Salmon Arm Secondary (SAS) for more info.

  • Lloyd Johnston Memorial Referee Scholarship Award.
  • The Anthony Materi Memorial Scholarship.
    • Open to any SAMHA player graduating. $500.
    • Please submit written letter outlining minor hockey experience, any school or community volunteer activities and future career goals.

Salmon Arm Minor Hockey Association will be awarding two scholarships to graduating grade 12 players (2020-21).
Each will be $500. Members must be part of SAMHA in 2020-21.
Info on the scholarship is available at SAS.
1. What minor hockey has meant to you over the years.
2. Include any community or school volunteer involvement

There will also be a Lloyd Johnston Memorial Referee Scholarship. Present referees (2020-21) will be eligible.
This is open to any graduating referee in our association.
Please include brief letter outlining your experience in officiating and also any community or school volunteer involvement.
Please send SAMHA Box 2323 Salmon Arm BC V1E 4R3 by March 31st. Attention Roy Sakaki, Administrator

All scholarships must be claimed within two years of presentation.
Salmon Arm Secondary School has further information to all applicants. See David Van Bergeyk

OMAHA Scholarships and Awards

  1. Margie Moss Award: Presented to most valuable female midget player in midget rep or recreation.Teams to submit one name from each team to OMAHA Central Office with brief write up of nominee. Deadline is March 15. Send to Sherry Wakelin
  2. Nonie Miyazaki Volunteer of the Year Award:  Presented to individual who has gone above and beyond the role of a volunteer in OMAHA District. Deadline: March 15 Send to Sherry Wakelin.
  3.  OMAHA/RCTO Scholarship/bursary: Are awared to players or officials who apply and best combine the qualificattions.
  4. Jack Koteles Award to one player in Pee Wee, Bantam and Midget. Rep or rec. Deserving individual or team who shows a strong commitment to community service. Outline the player or team community service and send to Sherry Wakelin. Deadline March 15.
  5. OMAHA Association of the Year. Submit summary outlining contribution to community, development programs. Initiation and Novice program adoption, scholarships, tournaments and clinics offered. Future developments, Communications, Educational programs for coaches and officials. Policies in place for addressing disputes, discipline and appeals. Deadline March 15 Send to Sherry Wakelin OMAHA Scholarship Application.
  6. BC Hockey Referees School in Osoyoos, B.C. Must be born 2003-2007. Contact Referee in Chief. OMAHA will send three officials to attend school.
  7. SAMHA officials...SAMHA will send two officials to the BC Hockey Referees School in Osoyoos. Contact Referee in Chief for more info.
  8. SAMHA Referee Scholarship awarded to Salmon Arm grade 12 graduate. See SAS for further details and application form.